ICMI Prijzen

The International Commission on Mathematical Instruction (ICMI) is founded in 1908 to foster efforts to improveĀ the quality of mathematics teaching and learning worldwide. the ICMI fulfils its mission through international programmes of activities and publications that promote theĀ collaboration, exchange and dissemination of ideas and information on all aspects of the theory and practice of contemporary mathematical education.
ICMI has beenĀ a commission of the International Mathematical Union (IMU) since 1952. All information about the ICMI: https://www.mathunion.org/icmi

The ICMI Awards:

The International Commission on Mathematical Instruction (ICMI) decided in 2000 to create two prizes recognizingĀ outstanding achievement in mathematics education research:

  • TheĀ Felix Klein Award, named after the first president of ICMIĀ (1908-1920), honours a lifetime achievement.

More information: https://www.mathunion.org/icmi/awards/felix-klein-award-life-time-achievement-mathematics-education-research

  • TheĀ Hans Freudenthal Award, named after the eighth president of ICMI (1967-1970), recognizes a major cumulative program of research.

More information: https://www.mathunion.org/icmi/awards/hans-freudenthal-award-outstanding-contributions-individuals-theoretically-well

In order to reflect the ICMI principles to ā€œdevelopment of mathematical education at all levelsā€ and ā€œto promote the reflection, collaboration, exchange and dissemination of ideas on the teaching and learning of mathematics, from primary to university level” the ICMI EC decided in 2013 to create a third ICMI award to recognizeĀ outstanding achievements in the practice of mathematics education.

  • TheĀ Emma Castelnuovo Award, named after the Italian mathematics educator born in 1913 to celebrate her 100th birthday and honour her pioneering work, to recognize outstanding achievements in the practice of mathematics education.

More information: https://www.mathunion.org/icmi/awards/icmi-emma-castelnuovo-award-excellence-practice-mathematics-education

These three awards pay tribute to outstanding scholarship in mathematics education.Ā  They serve not only to encourage the effors of others, but also to contribute to the development of high standards for the field through the public recognition of exemplars.Ā  The awards consist of a medal and a certificate, accompanied by a citation.Ā  They have a character similar to that of a university honorary degree.

TheĀ Felix Klein Award and theĀ Hans FreudenthalĀ are given in each of the odd numbered year (since 2003). TheĀ Emma Castelnuovo AwardĀ is given at the year an ICME is held (since 2016).

At each International Congress on Mathematical Education (ICME), the medals and certificates of the awards are presented at the Opening Ceremony. Furthermore, the awardees are invited to present special lectures (ICMI Award Lectures) at the Congress.

Two Awards Committees (AC) of each six persons select the awardees. The active members of the AC, except for its chair, are not made known.Ā  Only at the time when the terms of committee members expire are their names made public.

The Awards Committees is completely autonomous once appointed. Its work and records are kept internal and confidential, except for the obvious process of soliciting advice and information from the professional community, which is done by the committee chair. The AC has full authority in selecting the awardees. Its decision is final and is reported, in confidence, to the ICMI EC via the President of ICMI and then made public.

More information about the Award Committees:

More information about the recipients of the ICMI Awards:

Reacties zijn gesloten.