EMS prijzen

EMS, The European Mathematical Society is a learned society representing mathematicians throughout Europe. It promotes the development of all aspects of mathematics in Europe, in particular mathematical research, relations of mathematics to society, relations to European institutions, and mathematical education. The EMS has as its members around 60 national mathematical societies in Europe, 40 mathematical research centres and departments, and 3000 individuals.

EMS Prizes
The EMS Prizes were established by the European Mathematical Society. They are presented every four years at the European Congresses of Mathematics. A total of 10 prizes will be awarded at every congress. The award comprises a certificate including a citation and a cash prize of 5000 Euro. The next occasion will be the 8th ECM in Potoroz, (Slovenia), July 5-11, 2020. Any European mathematician who has not reached his/her 35th birthday on 30 June 2020, and who has not previously received the prize, is eligible for an EMS Prize at 8ecm. Up to 10 prizes will be awarded. The maximum age may be increased by up to three years in the case of an individual with a broken career pattern. Mathematicians are defined to be European if they are of European nationality or their normal place of work is within Europe. Europe is defined to be the union of any country or part of a country which is geographically within Europe or that has a corporate member of the EMS based in that country.

Felix Klein Prize:
Nowadays, mathematics often plays the decisive role in finding solutions to numerous technical, economical and organizational problems. In order to encourage such solutions and to reward exceptional research in the area of applied mathematics the EMS decided, in October 1999, to establish the Felix Klein Prize. The mathematician Felix Klein (1849-1925) is generally acknowledged as a pioneer with regard to the close connection between mathematics and applications which lead to solutions to technical problems. The award comprises a certificate including the citation and a cash prize of 5000 €.

Otto Neugebauer Prize:
The Prize is to be awarded for highly original and influential work in the field of history of mathematics that enhances our understanding of either the development of mathematics or a particular mathematical subject in any period and in any geographical region. The prize may be shared by two or more researchers if the work justifying it is the fruit of collaboration between them. For the purposes of the prize, history of mathematics is to be understood in a very broad sense. It reaches from the study of mathematics in ancient civilisations to the development of modern branches of mathematical research, and it embraces mathematics wherever it has been studied in the world. In terms of the Mathematics Subject Classification whole it covers the spectrum of item 01Axx (History of mathematics and mathematicians). Similarly, there are no geographical restrictions on the origin or place of work of the prize recipient. All methodological approaches to the subject are acceptable. The award comprises a certificate including the citation and a cash prize of 5000 €.

The 7th European Congress of Mathematics (7ECM) was held in Berlin, july 18-22, 2016.

The EMS Prize-winners of 2016 are:

  • Mark Bravermann (Princeton Univ., USA)
  • Vincent Calvez (ENS Lyon, France)
  • Hugo Duminil-Copin (Geneva, CH)
  • James Maynard (Oxford, UK)
  • Guido De Philippis (SISSA Trieste, Italy)
  • Peter Scholze (Bonn, Germany)
  • Péter Varjú (Cambridge, UK)
  • Geordie Williamson (MPI Bonn, Germany)
  • Thomas Willwacher (ETH Zurich, CH)
  • Sara Zahedi (KTH, Sweden)

Also awarded at the congress of 2016:

  • The second Otto Neugebauer Prize in the History of Mathematics went to Jeremy Gray (UK)
  • Patrice Hauret (France) received the Felix Klein Prize.

All information about the EMS: euro-math-soc.eu/

Reacties zijn gesloten.